Apathy Is Your Worst Enemy

There is an alarming amount of injustices that occur in day-to-day life. You wake up in the morning, turn on the TV, and it begins. The first headline in big, black letters flashes to the screen. “SCHOOL SHOOTING IN CONNETICUT” You sigh, and sip your coffee. It’s truly nothing out of the ordinary. Not that you’d necessarily condone what you’re seeing, but it’s not happening to you, therefore it’s nothing to worry about.

quote-the-ultimate-tragedy-is-not-the-oppression-and-cruelty-by-the-bad-people-but-the-silence-over-that-martin-luther-king-jr-102528

Recently, something happened in one of my classes that I believed was unfair. A “quiz” was given on the unofficial Senior Ditch Day, and all those present got ten points simply for being there. All those absent, whether participating in the ditch day or not, were deducted ten points on a quiz. I was not at school on this day because of an actual sickness. Regardless of the reason, for a teacher to presume, and punish, because of a personal vendetta seemed immoral to me. I spoke to my teacher about my point of view, and was met with a brick wall. Because I am a student, I am not able to sufficiently argue with a teacher. I am seriously hindered through the fear of being reprimanded for “back-talking” or “having an attitude”.

Needless to say, my mother was furious, and the principal was soon involved. Being that the educational system is what it is, a boss will always back up an employee, disregarding any moral issues.

The point of this post isn’t to call out a teacher. I understand her point of view, and I am not trying to drag out an argument that has already been exhausted. A few years ago, I may not have said anything. A few years ago, I would have been too afraid to speak up for myself, and what I believed to be right. I have learned through many, many violations of my personal rights that being apathetic, indifferent, or too afraid, gets you nowhere. Sitting by and hoping someone else will fight the oppressor is simply lazy.

jt4vdgrf-1351814592

It is incredibly easy to have your moral compass become conveniently cloudy when opportunities arise which would improve your quality of life by a significant amount. An act, which yesterday would have been far too shameful to even be considered,  is now plausible simply because it gets you closer to what you want. What’s “right” and “wrong” is all up to interpretation when personal gain is involved. Conflict with your conscience becomes far easier if the ends justify the means.

Despite this, we must always be reevaluating our judgements. Sometimes, it takes admitting that an action you committed was done out of anger, and it was wrong. Trying to make it right is the only thing to do in this situation. You can’t be apathetic towards your own corrupt behavior; this only perpetuates crooked morals that rule our world.

Dishonest behavior is too common. Every single day, there are people who abuse power, manipulate people, and wreak havoc in the world around them. It is not sufficient to disagree with these practices. To truly stop what is going on, we must actively do something. It may risk everything you’ve worked for. You may lose your job, your friends, your entire life savings. But, what is the point in living a life without morals? If the life you’ve built for yourself has only been obtained through unethical practice, or the indifference towards unethical practice, is it even worth it?

img_2281

The Incredible Chicken (Darian)

One thought on “Apathy Is Your Worst Enemy

Leave a comment